(+53) 32274321 lisbel.tena@nauta.cu

Our History

seperator

Before XIX century, this place was known as Pozo de Gracia, because there was a fertile Fountain where some citizens took wáter from it.

Thanks to the initiative of José Nicolás Montejo, councilman of the city council, who made the request to demolish three houses on May 6th, 1825, because “it’s convenient to from a square for a greater decorum, comfort and brazenness of the Carmen Church that it is building”, as he said in his petition to the Chapter. After the space was opened, it was called as “Street of the Step” or Carmen Square.

This urban place is considered as the most relevant of Camagüey city… the whole architectural that forms its surrounding show the architecture.

PLAZA DEL CARMEN DECADA DEL 40

SAM_0446The church, at present restored, is the unique that has two towers in our city. In the beautiful symmectric façade, there is a combination of baroque elements whit the simplicity of the neoclasic compositions.

El Carmen, unique example, takes from the architecture of the domestic buildings, the exterior columns and the interior archs and make with them one of the most beautiful frontispieces of the Cuban churches.

This urban space has one of its sides in a spaced form, an exceptional detail within the repertory of squares from the urban area. Here, there is not any house over the first level except the majestic Carmen Church. The church is developed since the inferior extreme of a street and its perpendicular collision with another street.

The Carmen square is one of the urban frame better conserved its architecture and ambientation. Its appearance is in the first decades of the XIX century and in its surrounding there are a popular varied architecture, with irregular yards and simple and modest facades.

There was built one of the most important whole architectural of Camagüey, under the support of the Franciscan Padre Valencia integrated by the women hospital in 1823, (nowadays in this space is Martha Abreu primary school), the church of Nuestra Señora del Carmen in 1825 (unique of two towers in the city) and The Ursulines Monastery, inaugurated in 1829, dedicated to the teaching of girls.

101_4497The property that is located at 261, on Hermanos Agüero Street, between Carmen and Honda, belongs to the first decades of the XIX century, its facade suffered modifications with the course of the time, in documental photos we can observe the existence of two big windows where today there are traces of the lintels from that epoch.

The Restauration project establish the recuperation of these vains to the original size, putting two new windows with bolts. There is also another window with bolts from its lateral side that has the same dimensions to the ones of the facade, getting in this way, better visions toward the square and also better inside and outside interrelation.

In the interiors is important to establish the recuperation of the closed archs, to restore all the covered of roofing title, so some girders and small girders of hard wood will be put there, as well as the flooring with blanket and Creole tiles.

101_4717